I have been working with many others on Electoral Reform for close to 20 years, but it was not until Occupy emerged--and the Occupy NYC working group on Politics and Electoral Reform, that I actually saw possibilities emerge.  The video someone else made of me speaking in NYC went viral, you can see it at http://tinyurl.com/ER-6Minutes.

RIGHT NOW--in the next 30-90 days--we can pressure all 435 Representatives and all 100 Senators into passing a law that forces all states to put all federal candidates from all qualified national parties (i.e. including Green, Libertarian, and Reform) on all ballots.

Here is what Richard Winger of Ballot Access News has written:

Congress only has authority to regulate ballot access for federal elections (Congress and President).  In 9 different sessions of Congress, bills to require easy ballot access for minor party and independent candidates have been introduced, but they only pertain to president and Congress.

First John Conyers (D-Michigan) introduced it.  Then Tim Penny (D-Minnesota) introduced it.  Then Ron Paul introduced it, four times.  In 1998 it got to the House floor as an amendment, but only 67 members of the US House voted for it.

The authority is in Article I, Sec. 4: 

The Times, Places and Manner of holding Elections for Senators and Representatives, shall be prescribed in each State by the Legislature thereof; but the Congress may at any time by Law make or alter such Regulations, except as to the Place of Chusing Senators.

Here is what I think has changed:

01 Occupy Congress is now rising. Congress will not be able to stand up to 80% of the population demanding it be responsible.

02 The Internet now makes organized people more effective in shorter time than organized money.

03 The mystique of Congress is gone — everyone now recognizes the two-party tyranny for what it is — one bird, two wings, no difference.